Y.16 -

Awards - receives World Intellegient Awarness Award

HL 2 women's groups give '89 awards

DD 03/12/89

SO The San Diego Union and Tribune (SDU)


Edition: 1,2

Section: LOCAL

Page: B-3

Category: LIST

LP The San Diego League of Women Voters and the Women's International Center each announced recipients of their annual awards during banquets last night. The league honored five "women of vision" for their leadership in "revitalization and promotion of cultural enrichment." They are:

TX o Holly Weston, visual artist, painter and past president of the Combined Organizations for the Visual Arts and the San Diego Art Institute. o Viviane Warren, contributor to the La Jolla Chamber Music Society, KPBS-TV/FM and the San Diego Museum of Art. o Danah Fayman, active with the La Jolla Museum of Contemporary Art, COMBO, the Old Globe Theatre and a supporter of many local artists. o Kit Goldman, supporter of performing arts and the revitalization of the Gaslamp Quarter Theatre. o Elsie Weston, president of the San Diego Symphony board of directors and member of the San Diego Opera advisory board. The Women's International Center announced its Living Legacy Awards to honor women and men who contribute to the positive growth of women. The recipients are: o Dr. Gerald G. Jampolsky and Diane Cirincioni, internationally known lecturers on topics of world peace. They received the Jehan Sadat Peace award. o Yvonne Fedderson and Sara O'Meara. They received the International Organization award for their Childhelp-USA program, an effort begun in 1959 to help outcast American/Japanese orphans, which has evolved into a research and treatment program to prevent child abuse. o Eleni Gatzoyiannis, who was condemned to a Greek firing squad death for refusing to give up her children so they could be raised as communists in another country. The award was accepted by her son, New York Times reporter Nicholas Gage, who wrote about her fight. * o Princess Yasmin Aga Khan, daughter of actress Rita Hayworth, who suffered from Alzheimer's Disease. She received the World Intelligent Awareness award for her effort to fight this disease. o Singer Pearl Bailey, honored for her work as U.S. Goodwill Ambassador to the United Nations and in fighting AIDS. o Ann Armstrong Dailey, honored for founding Children's Hospice International in 1983, a place for dying children and their families. o Dianne Feinstein, former San Francisco mayor, honored for her programs attacking joblessness, litter, graffiti and crime. o Gloria McMillan, La Jolla teacher and state finalist for Teacher in Space, honored for her work against illiteracy and for strengthening bonds between Soviet and American children. o Actress Jane Russell, honored for founding WAIF, which has resulted in adoptive placement of 38,000 children. o June Scobee , wife of the late Challenger astronaut Francis Scobee, honored for founding the Challenger Center for Space Science Education. o Artist June Wayne, honored for elevating the craft of lithography. o Beatrice Wood, honored on her 96th birthday as a potter, ceramicist, artist, photographer and author. o Marie Curie, scientist, honored for her work proving radioactivity is an atomic property.

Return to Princess Yasmine Press Clippings Index